Wednesday, January 12, 2011
Incubi and their non Phoenix Lord
What was once a retinue only unit is now a proper elite unit, the Incubi. They were pretty sweet last codex, and still are in the new codex.
Now there is also an Incubi HQ, Drazhar. He was once just an incubi upgrade, now he is his own HQ. I think this was a bad choice, much like Kheradruakh, not being an upgrade for Mandrakes or just another elite choice.
So Drazhar is about the cost of a Landraider and has a Phoenix Lord stat line, what is that? Well it is WS 7, BS 7, S 4, T 4, 3 wounds, initiative 7, 4 attacks, leadership 10 and a 2+ save. So he is supposed to be the lost Striking Scorpion Exarch. Then again only one small sentence mentions it, so G.W. missed the chance to do some cool background or confirm it. They choose to keep things cryptic for some reason.
Ok back on track, Drazhar comes armed with Demi Klaives and 3+ suit of armor. Well he is an incubi guy so what else should he have? He also has the Onslaught and Murderous Assault powers as well. The Demi Klaives are a nice touch and make him a beast in close combat; strength 6 with 4 attacks or strength 4 with 6 attacks. These are both nice options.
He has the Dark Eldar standard of Power Through Pain, Night Vision, Fleet, and also has Independent Character, Fearless and Eternal Warrior. The Eternal Warrior rule will help with the lack of an invulnerable save. I think since he is Incubi he can only join them or run by himself. Sure he will make an Incubi squad better, but he is still a big point sink for an army.
He also has a few special abilities, Master of Blades, Darting Strike, and Riposte. I covered Master of Blades as that it confers the Klaivex powers to him and squad.
Darting Strike lets Drazhar, at the beginning of combat, move anywhere in said combat. There must be room for him, he must remain in base-to-base contact and must stay in coherence if within a unit. This might get him out of some power weapon/ fist range and help with survivability.
Riposte is weird and opens a question. If Drazhar makes an armor save roll of 6, he may then make a single immediate attack. This attack must be directed at the unit that hit him. It is also worked out in that initiative step and is at his base strength of 4. I can see the interweb assuming since he has a power weapon it is a strength 4 power weapon attack. I read it as just a plain strength 4 attack. It will be up to others to fully answer that question, if at all. So if he gets a roll of 6 to save he gets to hit someone in the face for it. I guess kind of neat, but not really. I find it as useful as Gabriel Seth’s dirty fighting rule. If it happens cool, but don’t put faith in it.
So is Drazhar worth it? As a HQ I don’t think so. He is so expensive and brings little help to the army. A 10 man squad of Incubi or Drazhar? I’ll take the Incubi squad. While he can boost the crap out of an Incubi unit, he is just so expensive and only helps that unit. There are other Dark Eldar HQ that do so much more for the army and cost so much less.
If they pulled his stats or abilities back a bit and made him an upgrade like Tellion, Sikrot, etc, I could see more use for him. I don’t think, outside of fun or love of the model (if they make a new one) that the Master of Blades will see much table time.